top of page

Canada Immigration - Canadian Language Benchmark

A Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) is a language test equivalency chart that is used for permanent resident applications. A CLB is required to apply for all major Canadian immigration programs. Each applicant is given a CLB level based on their score on one of the four federal-approved language proficiency tests. Your CLB level is determined based on your listening, reading, writing and speaking abilities in one of Canada's official languages. There are 10 CLB Levels.

quick facts

  • Processing time: 14-30 days.

  • Fee: $310++ 

  • Online/In-person Accepted: Yes

  • Program required for: FSW - Express Entry, Work Permit, Study Permit etc..

  • Languages Accepted: English & French

Who is required to take a language test for Canadian immigration?

The federal and provincial skilled worker immigration program in Canada require you to pass a language test. This is true for the federal Express Entry system, the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP), and all of Canada's other skilled worker streams. It is critical to note that you must take a language test approved by the Canadian government.

Which language tests are approved for Canadian immigration?


The Department of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) approves the following language tests for skilled worker



  • CELPIP General Test

  • IELTS General Training



  • TEF Canada: Test d’évaluation de français

  • TCF Canada: Test de connaissance du français

How long is my language test report valid for? 

The validity period for a language test is 2 years for the purposes of immigration to Canada. This means that a maximum of two years must not have passed since you last took a test before you may file an application for immigration to Canada. If it has been more than two years since you last applied for immigration but you have not yet done so, you will be required to repeat the language exam.

How many points do I need to score in my language assessment test?

There are skilled worker programs that demand a CLB level as low as 4, and there are skilled worker programs that require a CLB level of at least 7. It is essential that you carefully research the requirements of the skilled worker immigration program that you would like to apply for in order to understand what CLB level you will need in order to be eligible for that program.

bottom of page